Monday, October 12, 2009

Thumping win for Isa

You are also welcome to visit my other blogs and

Monday October 12, 2009

Victory celebration: Tan Sri Mohd Isa Abdul Samad with Barisan deputy chairman Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (third right), Umno vice-presidents Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal (right) and Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein (second right) celebrating their victory in the Bagan Pinang by-election at the counting centre at the Port Dickson Municipal Council hall. Sharing the jubilation were Negri Sembilan Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan (second left), state MCA leader Datuk Dr Yeow Chai Thiam and state MIC chief Datuk T. Rajagopalu.

PORT DICKSON: Barisan Nasional’s Tan Sri Mohd Isa Samad scored a historic win in the Bagan Pinang by-election yesterday, thumping his PAS rival with a 5,435-vote majority.

He also brought an end to Pakatan Rakyat’s eight consecutive by-election victories in the peninsula, when he polled a staggering 8,013 votes against PAS’ Zulkefly Mohamad Omar’s 2,578 votes.

A beaming Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who was present when the official results were announced just after 8pm, said the people had endorsed Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 1Malaysia concept.

“This is a significant victory and more importantly the people’s endorsement of the Prime Minister’s policies. I congratulate the people of Bagan Pinang, including the Indians and Chinese, who came out in full support of Barisan,” he said at the tallying centre at the Port Dickson Muncipal Council hall.

The turnout was 82% out the total of 13,664 eligible voters. There were 223 spoilt votes. The racial breakdown for the seat is 63% Malays, 20.7% Indians, 10.8% Chinese and 5.5% others.

Isa, 59, also created history when he won all 18 streams, including votes from Indian and Chinese majority areas.

Former state assemblyman Azman Moha-mad had won the seat against PAS’ Ramli Ismail in the March 8, 2008 general election with a 2,333-vote majority, polling 6,430 votes against his rival’s 4,097.

After thanking the Barisan machinery, Isa walked about 300m to the main road leading towards Jalan Pantai to personally thank his supporters.

Word of a Isa victory came as early as 5.30pm.

Isa secured 3,521 postal votes while Zul received 601.

In the last general election, Barisan obtained 3,080 postal votes while PAS got 1,189.

The ballot boxes from the plantation areas of Ladang Sua Betong, Siliau, Ladang Atherton and Ladang Bradwall were the first to come in. The other four polling centres were Si Rusa, Kg Bagan Pinang, Teluk Kemang and Taman Eastern.

There were loud cheers for Isa when returning officer Abdul Wahab Shamsuddin made the official announcement.

Isa also thanked Negri Sembilan Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan for his support.

Zulkefly and his supporters did not turn up at the counting centre and could not be contacted for comments.

With the victory, Barisan controls two of the five state seats in the Teluk Kemang parliamentary constituency. The other is Linggi which is held by state exco Datuk Ismail Taib.

The Opposition controls Chuah, Port Dickson (both by PKR) and Lukut (DAP).

The Teluk Kemang parliamentary seat is also held by PKR state chief Datuk Kamarul Bahrain Abbas.

Source : Please click here.

No comments: